Why did President Nixon record his conversations?

Yesterday I listened to a very interesting interview on the Diane Rehm show with John Dean, former White House Counsel during the Nixon years about his new book about Watergate.  Nixon resigned a couple of weeks before I was born so I wasn’t around when it was big news. I’ve never studied much about Watergate but have always been intrigued by it.  I plan to read more about Watergate soon, but my first question was why the recordings in his office existed in the first place.  The answer is complicated and long, but I was especially interested to learn that many presidents, both before and after Nixon, have recorded their conversations.  More information is available here.

 

 

One thought on “Why did President Nixon record his conversations?

  1. Pingback: Why did Ford pardon Nixon? | What I googled last night…

Leave a Reply

